Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 28th, 2010

All last week I was in Atlanta, GA, attending the “Applying Liberty” seminar through the Foundation for Economic Education. It was exhausting (we had like 8am-8pm days), but totally amazing. I learned so much, met so many great people, and definitely have an entirely new list of literature to read. 😀 I love being a nerd.

Oh, and I also got to stay at the Ritz.

And one day we ventured to the Georgia Aquarium. I saw some jellies. They were sweeeeet.

But anyways, I had a really really good time. I’m home now, and back to reality, and I already miss it! I could go on-and-on about some of the new theory and info I learned on this blog, but I’ll spare ya’ll today. 😉

In other news: while the seminar was fantastic, my eating habits last week were not. Granted, compared to most other people I ate relatively well. I skipped chips, loaded my plate with veggies, and didn’t go crazy with the alcohol or pasta. But there were WAY more carbs than I’m used to (I had three bagels in a week. gah.), and I’ve realized over time that I can’t eat like “most other people” anyways (and stay around my desired weight). On the one hand this was a good test, because I realized that I don’t like bagels as much as I previously did. I used to be obsessed with the little guys, but I was definitely unimpressed with them as of late. Brownies, however, I’m still 110% a fan of.

Anyways, I have an island-wedding that I’m attending (as well as a bridesmaid in) in two weeks. The few extra pounds I have put on so far this summer would be extremely unattractive in a bikini, so I am initiating hardcore diet-mode as of today. Don’t worry, I’m still going to eat, I’m just doing the same diet that worked so well for me last summer. I’m not going to explain all the details here to bore you, but it’s basically high protein and almost no carbs or sugar. It sucks, really. But it is very effective. To help me through these next two weeks I am going to be using this blog for accountability. I read tons of healthy living blogs, and I know they really help the blog-ers stay on track, so I figured I’d take advantage of mine.

Plus, when I’m deprived of sweets I tend to get extra sassy, so some hilarity may ensue.

One can only hope.

Sorry for all the rambling. It must be the lack of morning carbs. 😉

Day 1: BEGIN!

Read Full Post »